I Couldn’t Look Away

We met by chance, on a sunny day in the middle of September. I could never forget the way my body felt as soon as I saw her. It was like this warm blanket wrapped me up and lifted me off the ground, just a few inches, but enough to feel like I was floating. 

We talked for hours laying on my bedroom floor. The whole time I couldn’t look away. There was something about the way her hair was falling ever so gently over her face. Maybe it was the way one side of her mouth curved upwards every time she smiled. Or maybe it was how beautiful her eyes looked when the sunlight hit them just right, illuminating hues of brown and gold. I couldn’t tell you why, but there was just something about her. I couldn’t look away.

It’s funny how sometimes you don’t really realize what’s happening until after the fact. When I watched her drive away that day I felt a part of me going with her. As she turned the corner out of sight, I could still feel her. And ever since that day, it’s like something connects us in a deeper way than we can understand. It’s like this invisible force that holds us together no matter how far apart we are. I like to call it Love.

 

-B

Leave a Reply

