I Never Really Believed In God

I never really believed in God. I was the kid in church staring blankly at the back of the pew in front of me, counting the lines in the wood. I never really believed in love at first sight or that human beings are innately good. Truthfully, I never really believed in much until the day I met you. 

It was a usual day, nothing out of the ordinary. The sun had rose in it’s soft orange glow and I had awoken to it’s greetings through my bedroom window. The morning went along as normal. I laid in bed for a while after waking, feeling cozy and snug wrapped in warm blankets. After I slid out of bed, brushed my teeth and dressed myself, I headed out of my apartment, breathing in the air of a seemingly normal day.

As I walked through the parking lot towards my car, I caught sight of a strange figure walking towards me. The figure was a woman, someone I had never seen before. As we approached each other and our eyes met, a sudden sensation washed over me. I felt as if mid-step, time had paused. I was looking at her and she was looking at me, everything was standing still and together we were realizing something. Something absolutely new yet familiar in a comforting way.

I never really believed in love at first sight until that moment I saw you in that parking lot. When our eyes met and we realized that our souls had finally connected after years of wandering this Earth in search of one another. I never really believed in the goodness of humans until you showed me just how good humans can be. Before I met you, I never knew how deep love could go. I never knew the sweetness of touch or the meaning of the words, “I love you.”

I never really believed in God until I saw her in your eyes. 

 

One thought on “I Never Really Believed In God

Leave a Reply

